10 Things Nobody Warned Me about my Twenties

Ο μπλόγκερ Doctor Quack έγραψε ένα άρθρο για τα πράγματα που δεν μας είπαν οι μεγαλύτεροι ότι θα μας συμβούν στην τρυφερή δεκαετία των 20. Πραγματικά όλα όσα έχει γράψει, για μένα τουλάχιστον ισχύουν. Ενδεικτικά θα αναφέρω τα δύο πρώτα. Τα υπόλοιπα μπορείτε να τα διαβάσετε εδώ.

1. Twenties are the new teens.

People in their thirties often tell me that the thirties are the new twenties, so what does that make us? Well, unfortunately, as if we didn’t already suffer enough in the confusing and disorienting teenage years, we have to do it all over again. The sad truth of our generation is that we often move home, and while I haven’t yet moved home, I’ve visited home enough to know the only difference between being around your parents as a teen and being around them as an adult is, as an adult, they can’t tell you to do your homework because you probably don’t have any.

We are just as rebellious, angsty, emotional, and unstable as we were back then, but throughout college we were far enough away it didn’t matter. This isn’t unique to being in the twenties – I compel every post-thirty adult who reads this to consider: what would life be like living with your parents? It would probably send you straight back in time to loitering at the local Seven Eleven just to escape the folks and their 9pm bedtimes.

“Girlie, where you going?”
“Out, Mom.”
“Don’t take that tone with me young lady! You’re not going out with that Johnson boy again! He’s trouble!”
“Mom! He’s my husband! I love him!”
“I won’t have it! I’ve been talking to Jimmy Lewis’s mother, and she thinks you two would make an adorable pair. He’s a retired lawyer, you know. Good genes.”
“You never listen to me, Mom!”

But, since people past the age of thirty don’t live with their parents (the shame eventually drives them out of the attic), this peculiar age-family dynamic rests on the shoulders of twenty-something boomerangs.

2. I still don’t know what it’s like to be an adult.

I remember once waking up at 6:30am to drive a friend to LAX. It was still dark, the streets were empty, and there was a certain amount of peace in the air. It was an hour I had rarely seen since my high school days, and even though I was dead tired, there was a certain amount of satisfaction in waking up before the world.

Then it became 7:00 and I was stuck in rush hour going 5 to 10 miles per hour on a freeway crammed with the morning commuters. Who the hell are these people, and what are they doing up before 10:00?! It was window into a confusing world I had never experienced – that of getting drive thru Starbucks on the way to work, being home by 5:30pm to eat dinner and then falling asleep after the evening news – and as I got back home from the airport at 8:00am, I tucked myself in bed realizing that as long as I eat dinner at 10pm and fall asleep around 2:30am every morning after doing my midnight grocery shopping with the drunkards and insomniacs, I will never know what it’s like to be an adult.

This is also true as long as I fill out a 1040EZ for my tax returns, but that’s probably connected to my sleep schedule. And don’t even talk to me about 401Ks or the Stock Market, whatever that is. A “bond” is a connection between two people, or at the very least the last name of James… η συνέχεια εδώ

Για τραγούδι κάτι που ταιριάζει με το κείμενο, αν και μιλάει για τους 19άρηδες. The long blondes – Once and never again

About chriszah

Ένας επαναστάτης του αυτονόητου. Προσπαθώ να μιλήσω οικονομικά σε μια χώρα γεμάτη "οικονομολόγους"... Στη φωτογραφία είναι το γιοφύρι της Άρτας. Δείτε όλα τα άρθρα του/της chriszah

Σχολιάστε

